The Flipped Classroom Model: A Full Picture

In this second article that I found that discusses the “flipped method,” the author, Dr. Jackie Gerstein, describes the problem that many teachers have with this model: “The problem is that educators, as a group, know how to do and use the lecture.  When educators are asked to replace their in-class lectures with videotaped ones (either their own or others) that learners watch at home, educators may not know what to do with this now void in-class time.” I can see how this could be a potential problem of the reversed learning method. Many teachers, including myself, were students of the traditional methods and continue to teach using these old, rigid methods out of comfort and knowledge. When they decide to switch over to a student-based, project learning style during class time, they can become confused. This style pushes teachers to incorporate creative projects into their material. I could see some teachers that are so used to providing information to their students for the entire class, stumble during class time. They can no longer fill up this time talking and providing notes and need a framework in order to make this transition.

This author provides a diagram that shows how a flipped classroom works. She calls it a cycle that “provides a sequence of learning activities based on the learning theories.”

Here is the model she provides in her article:

“Activity”: The cycle begins with experimental exercise in which the students become interested in the topic and learn from experience rather than provided facts and information. I would love to be a student working in this type of environment. I love to use my creativity and discover things, although I do get nervous and like to have information to back up my findings.

“What”: After class, students are then asked to watch lecture at home. They are provided with the background knowledge that they played with during class. This model would be perfect for a student like me. I would be able to be creative and productive during class, and then I would also be able to write down my notes and make sense of my exploration at night.

“So What”: Then comes reflection! Students can reflect what they learn by blogging, reflective podcasts, and even tests in class. This stage allows students the chance to engage in technology while teachers can assess what they have taken from the lesson.

“Now What”: Lastly, students can demonstrate their application of what they have learned through creative projects and presentations. The final step to any lesson or unit!

I believe that this breakdown could really assist teachers during their transition to the flipped model. This model, although it flips when the students practice and receive the material, it follows a very similar pattern of reflective and applying what they have learned. I really enjoyed the breakdown that this article provides as well as the visuals.  Feel free to check this site out! There are videos and pictures of “The Flipped Classroom” in action!

Article Link: http://usergeneratededucation.wordpress.com/2011/06/13/the-flipped-classroom-model-a-full-picture/

1 Comment

Filed under ed533dc, Research

One response to “The Flipped Classroom Model: A Full Picture

  1. Jennifer Rodriguez

    Jess, I absolutely loved it when you said, “Many teachers, including myself, were students of the traditional methods and continue to teach using these old, rigid methods out of comfort and knowledge.”. As we’ve discussed in class, this is extremely true. I notice this among ourselves as students in this program. We were taught with the traditional direct instruction method. Now, our professors are teaching us using this new method and it throws me for a loop sometimes. I love it, but it is scary. It definitely makes me feel vulnerable and stressed out. I can only hope that I get better at being this new type of learner so that I can become a better educator.

Leave a comment