The Connected Educator: Quote # 5

I found this quote so interesting! I never thought about the process of “unlearning” something that I have learned. But when I thought about this some more, it actually makes sense. In my opinion, this part of learning is the most difficult part. I work at a home for developmentally disabled adults, and right now we are making this huge transition by becoming a part of Camp Venture. Every week, we are forced to learn something new: change our way of documenting, switch over to a new medication process, participate in new trainings, and learn new task procedures. I must say, this transition has been so difficult. I have been at Tanglewood for over five years, and I have become very comfortable in my job responsibilities. When a person is asked to forget procedures that they have practiced for a good amount of time and learn new procedures, it is hard. I have been practicing this way for so long that I easily become confused and frustrated while I am thrown out of my comfort zone. I definitely have to work on this process myself. And I hope to practice connected learning as a teacher and model this process for my students.

2 Comments

Filed under ed533dc, Kindle Quotes

2 responses to “The Connected Educator: Quote # 5

  1. Jess,
    This is an excellent choice for a quote. I think this is definitely a topic we have discussed throughout our time in this program. I mean it’s the typical, “you can’t teach an old dog new tricks” idea. Now, by no means am I implying that we are old (haha), but there is a certain way of doing things that has been engrained in use since we started school (how ever many years ago). We have to step out of this, out of our comfort zone, in order to be fully able to maximize our studen’ts learning and potential. This is something that is much easier said than done. Not being able to accept the change as quickly as others does not make us less of a teacher. Learning is simply a hard thing to do.

  2. Jess,
    As we were discussing, this whole idea of unlearning what, as Jen said it, “has been ingrained in us [forever],” is a tough task to just “forget” and learn it a new way. Like most people I’m sure,I hate to be thrown out of my comfort zone…there’s a reason it’s called that, however, its those “fears” that will hopefully inspire our students to do the same thing: step out of their comfort zone and discover the world around them. I know this unlearning and relearning concept is mostly directed towards teachers, but I also feel that students have to unlearn certain things in order to relearn them a different way, therefore being able to see which way works best from them.

Leave a Reply

